Who We Are

The Council Consists of Five Members:

Two members appointed by the provincial government, two members elected by private managed forest landowners and one chair who is jointly appointed by the other four council members


Rod Davis – Chair

Rod Davis is a consultant with 40 years experience working in fish and wildlife ecosystem conservation, forest and range practices, land use planning, environmental protection, and natural resources inventory and analysis. Prior to being appointed chair in 2012, he served on the Private Managed Forest Land Council from 2004 to 2011. Mr. Davis is also an Adjunct Assistant Professor at the University of Victoria’s School of Environmental Studies. Prior to retirement in 2007, he was the Director of the Ecosystems Branch in the Ministry of Environment. In 2006 he was awarded the “Bill Young Award for Excellence in Integrated Forest Management” by the Association of Professional Biologists of BC and the Association of BC Forest Professionals. He has a bachelor’s degree in agriculture from the University of British Columbia, a master’s degree from McMaster University, and a doctorate from University of Victoria.  He is a Registered Professional Agrologist.


William Pryhitko – Owner Member

Will Pryhitko started work with the Beaumont Timber Company in 1984. He became Vice-President in 1995, and was President and Chief Executive officer from 1999 until his retirement in 2013.  He is currently a Director of the Company and sits on its Board. He has been involved extensively with local, provincial and federal governments on a broad range of issues related to private forest land and has worked closely with the BC provincial government and forest owners throughout the development and implementation of the Private Land Forest Practices Regulation.  Mr. Pryhitko has been a council member since July 2004.


Blair Robertson – Owner Member

Blair Robertson has been active in private forestry and land management on Vancouver Island since 1990. He operates his family–owned managed forest on southern Vancouver Island. From 1996 – 2004, he acted as general manager of the Private Forest Landowners Association. By virtue of his involvement in the Managed Forest Program since its inception and through his ownership of private managed forest land, he has accumulated substantial experience with local and provincial governments on a variety of land management issues. He has a Bachelor of Commerce and MBA from the University of British Columbia.


Brian Frenkel – Minister Appointee

Brian Frenkel is a northern BC born, Forestry and Environmental consultant, business owner, politician and advocate for rural communities. Over the past 35 years he has worked with all levels of government to help provide process driven solutions to many resource sectors, regional districts and communities. He has worked as a Forest Planner and Forestry Technician throughout Northern British Columbia. His career has allowed him to participate in several land use planning processes such as: the Vanderhoof Land and Resource Management Plan; the PGTSA Cell Allocation Plan; and the Vanderhoof Sustainable Forest Management Plan.

He is a founding member of the Nechako Environment and Water Stewardship Society and a member of the Nechako White Sturgeon Recovery Initiative.

Brian is also a Councillor with District of Vanderhoof and has been an active director on the boards of the Municipal Insurance Association of BC, North Central Local Government Association and the Union of BC Municipalities.


Dennis Lozinsky – Minister Appointee

Dennis Lozinsky is a Registered Professional Forester (RPF) and Environmental Professional EMS Lead Auditor EP(EMSLA). He has more than 30 years experience in the forestry sector in operational forestry, forest certification and forest practices auditing. As the Principal of Salix Consulting Ltd., Mr. Lozinsky specializes in providing Sustainable Forest Management Systems and forest certification auditing to a wide range of forestry-based organizations in BC and Alberta.

He holds a Bachelor of Science in Forestry from the University of Alberta, and a Diploma of Forestry Technology from Selkirk College. Prior to Salix Consulting Ltd., Mr. Lozinsky was a Forest Certification Coordinator for a major forest company on the west coast, an Operational Forester in the Southern Interior, and a silviculture forester with the Ministry of Forests on North Vancouver Island.



Phil O’Connor, RPF

A Registered Professional Forester in B.C. for over twenty years, Phil O’Connor’s career has taken him to various locations with both government and the private sector. His government experience includes work as a Planning Forester on land use issues and timber supply on the Central Coast and as Regional Revenue Manager in Williams Lake. In the private sector he has worked as a field forester, as the Manager of Forestry Resources in a Coastal Woodlands Department and as Administrative Forester responsible for the management of a TFL and private lands. His career has taken him through all facets of the industry, from solid wood, to pulp and paper and the value added sector.


Ann Donaldson, RPF

Ann Donaldson is a registered professional forester with more than 20 years experience working in natural resource management on the coast and in the interior BC. Ann has worked mostly as a consultant for both industry and government, with experience ranging from silviculture, forest inventory, development planning, timber supply analysis and management plans. She has also worked as an administrative forester responsible for ensuring adherence to legislation and policy. She began working with the Managed Forest Council as a part time consultant in 2004, becoming full time in 2016.


  • Trevor Swan, August 2004 – December 2011
  • Don Avis, July 2004 – June 2006
  • J.T. (Jim) Trebett, July 2006 – June 2010
  • Garth Webber Atkins, July 2004 – June 2006
  • Rod Davis, July 2004 – March 2011
  • Ron Davis, August 2006 – August 2012
  • Rod Visser, November 2011 – November 2017
  • Michael Alexander, August 2012 – August 2018